Forums Latest Members

What Reference is This Omega? Recent Purchase--Needs Service.

1. sps.camus Dec 24, 2021

I bought this white gold Omega recently and I'm waiting for it to arrive. I paid $800 for it. I doubt that is an excellent price based on some of the nicer condition watches I saw on eBay, but I really like the look of the white gold without plating (I'm guessing the rhodium plating wore off in places and it probably got polished to give it an even finish?). Let me know if you think it looks incorrect for any reason. I'm fairly new to vintage watches, and this is my first omega. Figure it's best to learn from my mistakes if I got burned.

As for reference, best I can tell, it looks like an ST 166.0204 from 1978 (but that is stainless steel). Did Omega happen to make that reference in white gold? I'll know more when I can get the case back off but I appreciate any insight. Omega 2.jpg Omega.jpg omega chip.jpg Omega Scratch.jpg

2. padders Oooo subtitles! Dec 24, 2021

White gold? It looks pretty yellow to me. Can you show a full pic of the Cashback.

3. Vanallard Dec 24, 2021

Beat me to it - looks yellow based on the photos.

4. sps.camus Dec 24, 2021

Unfortunately, I don't have a picture of the full caseback. I'll upload one once it arrives. As for the gold, white gold has a bit of a yellow tent when it isn't plated. I asked the seller, and they confirmed it was white gold, but can get a yellowish tent depending on the lighting. I think this picture against a black background does a better job of showing the white gold (yellow gold would definitely look yellow in this pic). white.jpg look yellow against this black background).

Zapatta and Spruce like this.
  5. sps.camus Dec 24, 2021

Admittedly, I am kinda out on a limb buying a watch without a picture of the full case back or internal movement... But it was donated so worse case my overpayment is going to the org's non-profit purpose....

sleepyastronaut and Spruce like this.