Forums Latest Members

What Makes One Speedmaster Model More Water Resitant than Another?

1. d3adrock Nov 4, 2020

Hi, in looking at the special 50th enamel dial aniversarry edition speedmasters and noticing that they have much greater water resistance than the regular speedmaster (100m vs 50m) yet they look like they share the same case and construction. My question is what makes the 100m speedmaster more resistant than the regular one? Extra gaskets? Different case/pusher construction? Or are they both the same and only the number has changed for marketing reasons?

Thanks!

StuartG and schoolboy like this.
  2. schoolboy Nov 4, 2020

Im no expert, but one difference is that the one you’re talking about uses a sapphire crystal instead of hesalite like the “basic” Speedmaster

I wonder if that could be it

Thrasher36 and Foo2rama like this.
  3. d3adrock Nov 4, 2020

I don't think so because the base saphire sandwhich shares the same water resitance with the hesalite.

schoolboy likes this.
  4. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Nov 4, 2020

Niad lock caseback, sapphire, non display back

5. d3adrock Nov 4, 2020

I'm a bit confused, which one are you reffering too? What is the niad lock caseback? Thanks!

6. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Nov 4, 2020

If only there was a website that allowed you to type in a subject and get answers...

7. schoolboy Nov 4, 2020

Doesn’t niad just mean screw down?

8. schoolboy Nov 4, 2020

Example of a naid crown

15B2B0DA-5A32-4924-AF73-BA2B924048BF.jpeg
  9. Evitzee Nov 4, 2020

No, a NAIAD case back has a different mechanical sealing system than a standard screwback (a NAIAD doesn't 'screw down'). It offers the advantage of a perfectly oriented caseback. Important for something like the Apollo 11 and Snoopy.

Edited Nov 5, 2020
    janice&fred likes this.
  10. 77deluxe Nov 4, 2020

Regular servicing?

11. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Nov 4, 2020