Forums Latest Members
  1. OskarNL Feb 25, 2020

EE3EDFCE-36AD-4203-908D-28FE4809F69C.jpeg B664019B-C102-4108-A13A-459B33C0D7E8.jpeg 8A1D29FF-3477-4E68-9950-7E4739D5E8D0.jpeg BB71D4BA-A834-466A-B0A8-2776109F80D2.jpeg D097D66A-247C-4080-A714-FE2199CE670E.jpeg D1B3399D-80AA-4B23-88A7-8AB768A12F88.jpeg E0EA2BF9-7265-481E-B17B-E0E2661EDF17.jpeg EC0C85C4-ABCB-49AB-97F3-D8D8D7CE98EC.jpeg 10C3CECF-329D-4CF2-9AA3-8B14CFE7F2C6.jpeg Dear community,

My parents have recently inherited a number of Omega watches from my grandparents. I have a bit of a passion for antique jewelry so this was a great occasion to start learning about watches. I was wondering if you would be able to give me some advice on this piece before taking it to a professional for restoration.

I am a novice so please excuse me if I use the wrong terminology.

I will start with the questions, see additional information below.

1. What time period and model could this watch be?

2. Does it look like elements have been replaced?

3. Does the watch still hold any value and what should I spend max on restoration?

INFO
    The watch as you can see is an old Omega. My grandfather lived in the Netherlands, during WWII he trained with the British Army as part of the Dutch liberation forces and then he lived in the United States ‘48-‘53. After that he lived in Indonesian until the late 50’s after which he moved back to NL. He might have bought this watch in any of these locations, not sure if it was bought new or vintage. My grandparents have a reputation for ‘cost efficiently’ restoring valuable items. It’s probably been boxed up for over 30 years.

The original wristband has been replaced by a Hirsch band.

The case back does not display any markings other than a hastily engraved ‘TA 3859’.

The crown does not have the Omega logo (has it been replaced cheaply? I know some models don’t have the logo).