Forums Latest Members
  1. absolutetrash May 30, 2018

Hi, I am new to the world of watches as well as this forum, so please pardon any noobness on my part. I have recently decided to get a “real” watch (I’ve only owned digital no name watches) and the only thing I can afford is a vintage Omega. I found a nice looking piece with a repainted dial which I don’t mind, but it doesn’t have a name on the dial and I have no clue if it’s real or fake. I hope someone can shed some light on it thank you very much. 83CCBDFD-D804-459F-BEE6-E696EFFAC834.png 2EDE98DA-8731-4E57-977F-346E4BDB98B1.png EB451CCA-F234-491C-B896-E1F3B6F11AB3.png

FE2FC111-2EE8-436D-A7FE-A9379C072019.png
  2. JimInOz Melbourne Australia May 30, 2018

Omega watches did not always have model names like Seamaster, Constalletion ;) etc.

It's most probably genuine but based on the pics you've shown I wouldn't buy the watch (I'd want to see a lot more, especially movement, caseback).

Buying a vintage watch isn't "Oh, I know, I'll buy a vintage watch today".

It's a minefield so research and knowledge can prevent great misery.

Begin your education here and save yourself some heartache.

https://omegaforums.net/threads/learn-how-to-fish.52603/

3. Fialetti May 30, 2018

What JimInOz said.

Also, If money is an issue there are a lot of mechanical watches, both vintage and modern, that can be had for less than a vintage Omega.

absolutetrash likes this.
  4. absolutetrash May 30, 2018

Thank you guys for your reply. So should I pass on this? The seller has told me he doesn’t mind having the watch checked at any place of my choosing for authenticity

5. Edward53 May 30, 2018

That doesn't make sense. It's like saying I've decided to get a "real" car and the only thing I can afford is a vintage E-type.

Foo2rama and connieseamaster like this.
  6. JimInOz Melbourne Australia May 30, 2018