Forums Latest Members

UG Polerouter Advice and Opinions

1. masteroftime Mar 9, 2021

Hi all, this is my first time venturing out of the Vintage Omega side of the forum, but I've been increasingly drawn to the world of vintage Polerouters.

I ended up submitting an offer and mistakenly buying this Polerouter and was wondering if some of you could give me some advice and tell me how I did. I bought the watch pictured for a little less than $500. Does this seem too high? It seems like these steel models go for alot more than the gold capped varieties and they're harder to find. I recognize that it is a little worn, but I was happy to see that it had an original UG crown and the dial wasn't aged up.

Second, I noticed that the dial looked odd and upon closer look I think the dial has been repainted. Can anybody corroborate this? Do you think it would be worth getting it redone?

Lastly, this is the second Polerouter I've bought and I seem to always have issues with them after shipping. The last one arrived to me losing about 5 minutes and this one arrived losing 2 minutes. Do I just have bad luck or are these Cal 69 microtors a little temper-mental? I notice that when I try to wind them, I never feel the tension of a fully wound mainspring...it seems as if the spring is slipping and I can keep winding. Is this something unique to these microtors that is supposed to happen?

Apologies for the seemingly dumb questions, but after two busts I really want to learn from some more seasoned collectors/enthusiasts. Thank you!

Screen Shot 2021-03-09 at 2.28.52 AM.png Screen Shot 2021-03-09 at 2.29.09 AM.png

2. rincondeltiempo Mar 9, 2021

Hello and congrats on venturing off from Omega and giving UG a chance!