To mod or not to mod?

Hi all,

I'm a long term Speedmaster Pro (311.30.42.30.01.005) owner who also owns an original Omega Mitsukoshi dial and hands that I bought back in the day.

Originally, I bought the dial and hands with the intention of buying another cheap donor Speedmaster Pro and swapping the dial over, so that I could own two Speedmaster Pros, one normal and one with the Mitsukoshi dial.

I then got cold feet for a number of reasons. The main one was that I couldn't bring myself to deface a Speedmaster Pro, even as ubiquitous as they are.

Fast forward a few years and I still have the sealed Mitsukoshi dial burning a hole in my watchbox and an opportunity has opened up in my collection for a quality white dialed watch.

The question is, do I now go through with the original plan? If so, what sort of donor watch? I haven't got a Sapphire Sandwich (311.30.42.30.01.006) version but realise I may be making a pig's ear out of two silk purses.

Any advice would be gratefully received.

It's the type of mod that can be easily reversed, you're not defacing or ruining anything. If you are hung up on the idea sell the dial and hands and move on. Make someone else happy. If you do decide to use the dial I'd pick a late model hesalite crystal watch to keep in the spirir of the original.
Edited:

Thank you.

Great points!

The only things that can't be reversed, as I see it, is a) I cannot reseal the original Omega dial case and b) if a watchmaker damages the dial or hands.

Thank you.

Great points!

The only things that can't be reversed, as I see it, is a) I cannot reseal the original Omega dial case and b) if a watchmaker damages the dial or hands.

A) If you have the Speedmaster serviced, the original seal would be gone anyway.

B) This shouldn’t be an issue for any competent watchmaker.

Go for it. The Mitsukoshi Speedmaster is one of the all time greats.

IMG_1752.jpeg

Thank you.

That's a beauty!