To clean or not to clean?

Hi all,

My two new (to me) Omegas here. The one on the left is polished and looks like it came out of the 1969 showroom today. The one on the right is also great but it has its signs of wear, and some patine, some scratches, etc. Both have all original components and both recently serviced.

What do you all say about this? I prefer polished - "character" is a euphemism for "old and decrepit" (just like in my profession; I am a photographer)... thoughts?

Generally this is a NO polish forum.

So it's a no from me.

Like 6
Generally, sure. But perhaps there might be exceptions?
Certainly I would always insist on all original parts (including crystal and crown), so I think we agree at least on that!

Your watches, your choice.
As long as you are aware that polishing will reduce the watches desirability to collectors, which may impact future value.

Plus 1 for @X350 XJR

Like 3
Your watches, your choice.
As long as you are aware that polishing will reduce the watches desirability to collectors, which may impact future value.
Plus 1 for @X350 XJR

Yeah I am hedging my bets: one polished, one not touched. :-)

The case of the watch on the left is not as appealing to me because of the rounded edges, and obviously I don't like the back where someone got really aggressive. The dial is much better, of course.
Edited:

Like 4
They’re your watches so do what makes you happy.

I’m firmly in the no polish camp. Polished watches looks like used bars of soap to me. All the original sharp lines and definition gets compromised.

Like 3
Thread title is "clean vs not clean" but the discussion is "polish vs no polish" = BIG difference
I vote for clean, but no polish (yes to crystal polish)

Like 4
Thread title is "clean vs not clean"
Yeah, I thought at first this was going to be another thread where members had to tell the OP that his dial couldn't be cleaned.

I hear you on all this. Yeah, polish is a better word than clean.