Forums Latest Members

Speed master Moon Watch loosing time

1. pc360 Sep 7, 2019

Hi all, I’m new to omega and watches, I recently purchased a speed master moon watch and have noticed at least once per week it looses at least 5 minutes of time typically over night. When I wake in the morning the watch is still running and it will maintain the 5 minutes of lost time throughout the day. I took the watch back and had it replaced and now the replacement has the exact same issue. Has anyone else experienced this problem? I’ve looked online and can see the tolerances are between 1 and 10 seconds gain per day, but obviously 5 minutes over night seems excessive.

Also wanted to check the crown, is it normal when winding for the crown for it to spin in reverse after a single wind, there is an amount of back spin which I’m not sure is correct?

Thanks

2. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Sep 7, 2019

Are you fully winding it once per day, to the point where the crown can't be wound any longer?

Yes, the crown turning backwards slightly is normal.

3. pc360 Sep 7, 2019

Thanks for your reply, I havent been fully winding it each day, would that be the cause? My assumption was because it was still running I still had some power in reserve? I would wind it approximately every two days (or just under)

4. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Sep 7, 2019

Very possibly, so try winding every day at around the same time of day and see how the timekeeping goes...

rominvicta and astrand like this.
  5. rominvicta Sep 8, 2019

You have to praise your AD. Even If there would have been a problem mine would have repaired it and not exchange with a new one.
    Most likely there was no any kind of problem with the watch.

6. Duckie Sep 8, 2019

Agreed.
    When I first read the OP's post, a few things came to mind and that was front and center.
    Operator error appears to be written all over it on a number of levels.