Forums Latest Members

2015 speed master mark ii movement noise

1. sharkhandler Aug 18, 2016

All,

so I've been wearing my speedmaster mark ii in anger now for about 2 months, and I've noticed that there seems to be excessive movement noise coming from the watch when it's shaken.

in context, I have an Omega seamaster 2245.5 and a 1974 Omega speedmaster mark IV automatic, both of which make a little movement noise when shaken (1 - 2 seconds), however the new speedmaster seems a bit excessive.

if I make a sudden movement of my wrist, the movement will vibrate for between 7 - 10 seconds, sounding like some ball bearings running around a track. then finishes with a small winding sound, which I assume is the winding mechanism for the power reserve (I now understand that the power reserve is a coil, and not a battery)

what is worrying though is that when I'm wearing the watch and I shake my wrist, the watch will be actually be vibrating on my wrist as I'm wearing it. Is this normal behaviour for the 3330 movement? Or is it loose and should I send it back to Omega for a check?

having set my watch to an atomic clock, the movement gains about 2 seconds per day, which is well within COSC operational parameters, it's just sometimes bloody irritating how noisy it gets. Is this usual?

thanks,

Paul.

2. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Aug 18, 2016

Short version - 7750 wobble - completely normal.

Longer version - the Cal. 3330 is based on the ETA 7750 chronograph, and the automatic system on the 7750 only winds in one direction. So the rotor only winds the mainspring when turning in one direction, and the rotor will often spin freely in the non-winding direction, which is a sign that the bearing is clean and in good shape actually.

Cheers, Al

Carnagerobert and vinn2 like this.
  3. sharkhandler Aug 18, 2016

Al, thanks for your reply - I assume then that this is this the reason why the new speedmaster is priced so attractively? its not using an in-house movement?