Forums Latest Members
  1. 110woman Jan 27, 2024

So I'm sure you're all sick to the backteeth of people joining the forum and asking the same questions time and time again...but never let it be said I don't follow the crowd !!

My husband ( aged 60 ) was given his dads old watch, years & years ago...its been sat in its box in my bedside cabinet for all that time.

I'd like to get it serviced and working for his birthday in May as a surprise.

So questions..from the photos alone does anyone have a vague clue as to how old it is ? ( I dont dare take the back off to get the number).

How much roughly does a service cost..no idea if it needs a repair or not at this stage?

Whilst there is sentimental value in paying to get it going , I cant justify spending say a gazillion pounds on a watch that's worth only £2.50 say.

Sorry the photos are a bit pants..its a good job im a nurse not a photographer !!!

Thanks for any help

20240127_202801.jpg 20240127_202526.jpg 20240127_202906.jpg 20240127_202928.jpg 20240127_202747.jpg 20240127_202600.jpg
  2. DrmexicoII Jan 27, 2024

So I'm far from an expert and wouldn't want to date the watch. It looks genuine to me but difficult to tell from the photos (also, I'm not an expert) - I'm sure others will chip in. In terms of getting it serviced, don't send it to omega. I'm assuming you're in the UK on which case I would send it to someone like mitka for a sympathetic service. It would cost somewhere around £250, more if it needs parts. Hope that helps.

https://mitka.co.uk/

Mitka and Davidt like this.
  3. Dan S Jan 27, 2024

That's a very nice and high-end Seamaster, probably from the 50s. It's also very appealing, with the gold-colored hands and dial markers and the cross-hair dial. Very nice watch. Somebody will most likely be able to give you the reference number and the caliber of the movement just from looking at it.