Forums Latest Members
  1. sah Oct 1, 2018

I have a 1 year old Seamaster Professional Diver ceramic that is one year old. Runs well and is my everyday watch. On those rare occaisionals I go 3 or 4 days without it, I like to start it with a manual wind with the crown in position 1. I wind it clockwise when looking down on the crown, but notice a mild grinding resistance. I wonder if position one is not far enough out from the crown's screw down threads. It turns smoothly counterclockwise, but I believe that direction does nothing to wind the mainspring. With a little more pull out to the crown, but not to position 2 for date change, the resistance is less. I do not recall this when first purchased, but I have rarely had to manually wind it. Seems like it may need to get checked while on warranty.
    My question is, Is the normal clockwise wind for position one smooth and without any grind sensation?
    20180828_092835.jpg

2. Eve Oct 15, 2018

Hallo @sah,
    i noticed the same issue with my Seamaster Diver 300m reference 212.30.41.20.01.002.
    The manual wind on this watch was allways very smooth, you could hardly feel any resistance. Exact same feeling like on my 2254.50, also very smooth.

However, since 1 month, after the complete Service by Omega, i feel the same grinding feeling during manual wind, just like you described it. It just doesnt feel right, since this smooth windind on SMP is very prominent feature.

Can somebody please comment on this? is it normal? will it eventually disappear on its own?
    the watch is only 1 month in use and have been worn only a couple of times.
    i still have like 23 Months warranty on this Service, would you advice looking to the watchmaker?

Best regards!
    IMG_20181013_114205.jpg

Edited Oct 15, 2018
    sah likes this.
  3. sah Oct 15, 2018