Restore or leave

I have a seamaster that has been worn constantly for the last 40+ years and the crystal is pretty scratched. I’m of the opinion that an object should show it’s patina with pride - I have a couple of classic motorbikes 9C5E221C-56EC-4BEB-855E-CA4076B1700F.jpeg that prove that point. The question is should I have the crystal replaced to see the face better or leave it alone. I think I know the answer but put it out for general comment.

It's a Seamaster and therefore has water resistance. It's probably overdue to have it seals replaced anyways, so you might as well service it and you can get a new crystal as part of the service.

Interesting that you don't consider this one vintage. Most of us would.

While a little age doesn't bother me, I don't like my watches looking like they were beat to hell. But not everyone thinks like me. 😀

Can't tell from the photos if it's beyond polishing. If yes then I would definitely replace it with a genuine omega crystal and just keep the original.

I’d try polishing with polywatch (or even autosol, toothpaste or similar) but if the scratches are too deep or it’s cracked I’d certainly get a new crystal.

Most collectors certainly wouldn’t advocate polishing cases, refinishing dials etc but a replacement crystal is fine on all but the most historically important watches.

I don’t have a problem with replacement parts, as long as they’re correct for the reference.

Not the clearest of photos, but it looks a bit too late for Polywatch, if it’s plexi.

I say replace it. You can always keep the original crystal.

I say replace it. You can always keep the original crystal.
Do people do that? I've never understood why. It's like keeping the broken icemaker from your refrigerator after it's fixed.

Do people do that? I've never understood why. It's like keeping the broken icemaker from your refrigerator after it's fixed.
Some people find it hard to let go.

728337F6-BE44-4A70-835B-FD8EEB9ACE59.jpeg