Forums Latest Members

Question on new Seamaster Diver 300 and Magnet

1. dummykid Dec 29, 2020

I got my new black Seamaster Diver 300M (210.30.42.20.01.001) during the holiday as a gift to myself, and I have noticed that the watch is running fast under the magnet condition.

I may have a wrong understanding on Anti-Magnet feature on the watch, but here are the cases I am experiencing:

I recently got a new Microsoft Ergo keyboard which has 4 or 6 magnets inside for ergo attachment, so after I use the keyboard for a few days, and today I have noticed my watch suddenly runs fast ( I have a lot of typing today on keyboard), such as 2 mins faster than last day, but when I check the watch with the compass, and the watch was not magnetized.

I also experienced the same thing a few week ago when I placed the watch near my desk lamp, ( I verified with a compass and the desk lamp has a little bit magnetic field), typically my watch accuracy is about +2s per day, but after I woke up in the morning, I noticed my watch was about 30s or 40s faster than last day.

With my experience above, I am wondering if the watch would be running faster under the magnet condition, but it just won't be magnetized ? or the watch should still be running accurately under the magnet condition?

2. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Dec 30, 2020

There are other reasons a watch can run very fast, but the only way you will know for sure is to have Omega take a look at it.

guppydriver likes this.
  3. mjb Dec 30, 2020

Congrats on the new watch. As Archer mentioned, there could be a lot of reasons for this, but it seems to me (if you want to avoid sending off the watch and being without it for a while) that you could start by replacing the keyboard and desk lamp and closely monitoring the accuracy of the watch. Use the upcoming holiday weekend to review the timekeeping under controlled conditions to set a benchmark.

4. neurosciguy15 Dec 30, 2020