Forums Latest Members

Question About the Rolex Wait List, Update 147 days

1. impalla62ss Oct 13, 2020

Hello all, I am really a fan of the Rolex Air King 116900, although many may find it ugly. I am mainly an Omega guy and other than my 1500, I really do not have a lot of experience with Rolex. I am really studying up on vintage now, but am thinking about going new for once in my life. I have read about all this wait list stuff and have no issue with it. I would prefer to wait if I had to, and buy from an authorized dealer. It also looks like the list price on the Rolex site is cheaper than used watches on eBay.

That being said, I am in Alaska and am nowhere near an authorized dealer. I have several questions.

Anybody know if there is a wait list for the Rolex Air King 116900?
    Any estimates on the length of a wait if there is a wait list.
    Any dealer recommendations. Anywhere in the US would work for me.

Thanks for any assistance you may offer.

air.jpg

2. Davidt Oct 13, 2020

I would assume it’s comparable or slightly less than the Explorer 1.
    I was on a list from Nov 19 and got the call in Jun 20, with no prior history with the AD (although I do think the Covid lockdown expedited matters).

I’d generally say pick an AD, have a chat with them, let them know you’re serious and drop by for a browse and give them a little reminder every month or so. However, if you’re not local to an AD that might not be possible.

3. kip595 Oct 13, 2020

This design tends to be one of their most polarizing, and almost certainly their most 'love or hate' design in that price range - what I'm getting at is though many if not most ADs will put you on a waitlist, I have at least 3 times in the last 3 years seen this just sitting in ADs ready for someone to walk in.