Forums Latest Members

Pls help. Seems real or fake? Vintage Omega Seamaster Deville

1. Oak Jan 3, 2020

I'm new to this whole vintage watch world and this is my first Omega purchase. Eventually, I will take it to a workshop and have it opened up to see the mechanics.(btw does the Omega Boutique work on vintage?) But for now, just by looking at it, does the watch itself look genuine or fake? Vintage Omega Seamaster Deville 14k gold filled. Automatic. No luminescent. Thanks.

188B55BA-0E24-40B4-B4DE-1914B3D315B1.jpeg BA855C8D-7012-4FB7-8FEF-88EF4E640915.jpeg C6B64551-097D-41F8-A35A-127BFA7DC96A.jpeg BAA71086-87A5-4094-97D7-2D9CB8CE7879.jpeg 98DE7146-DBDB-4E8D-80C4-44E6E30FE751.jpeg
  2. seekingseaquest Jan 3, 2020

It’s the real deal and it looks nice! Remove that bracelet from it ASAP as those types of bracelets tend to wear through the lugs. Also, is the top left lug a little bent?

Omega will work on vintage but we typically don’t recommend you bring it to them - they will replace many of the original parts with service parts which will hurt the collector value. Yours seems quite original so that would be a shame. Find a local watchmaker who works with vintage pieces, or provide where you live and someone may have recommendations.

Oak likes this.
  3. Oak Jan 3, 2020

Wow the community is fast in replying. You guys are awesome. Thanks for the super helpful info. And woah, I just now noticed that the left lug is bent! Thanks for pointing that out. How did that even happen? Is there a way I can get that fixed? I plan on switching the speidel band for an 18mm leather strap. I hope the bent lug doesn't affect it in any way. But overall, I'm happy to hear from someone that the watch is genuine. Huge reassurance. And I'll steer away from the Omega Boutique. Btw, having the watch cleaned (or even polished) is something I should also avoid?

4. Stosh Jan 3, 2020

Should be caliber 550. Case reference KM 6292 made by Ross watch case co.

Oak likes this.