Forums Latest Members
  1. Walrus Sep 14, 2019

I wrote a brief stanza in a strap thread about this issue. I’m a novice magician and one routine we do is watch removals. I’ve done it numerous times, never been caught but I only do regular bands. I don’t touch steel as like I said I’m a novice and need to keep it simple. I have a couple friends that are professional, they make videos teaching magic and develops magic for some of the major name guys. They can get any type of watch off, it’s quite amazing but I know many people here would probably get very mad if the trick was done to them.

I try to be careful in tourist areas, that’s where the pickpockets thrive and in Shanghai we were looking at the pearl of the orient and another westerner in the crowd got his watch taken. He was about 10 feet from me and I overheard him obviously very upset. At the monthly meetings I go to the magicians know I’m into watches so they love to get me. Even with me knowing the tells they get me, especially when they pair up which many of the thieves do. I need to keep my hands in my pocket at the meetings. I know it sounds unbelievable but these guys can get funky deployments off of you. So I’ve read here about the unfortunate house break ins where people lost watches but I’m curious if anyone has ever been picked. This is also a public service announcement. Sorry for the ramble I’m bored this evening. The thread can just sink away if it’s stupid.

ext1, DaveK, Mad Dog and 2 others like this.
  2. Donn Chambers Sep 14, 2019

Never been picked (thank God) but I have seen a couple of street magicians do the “steal the watch” trick. Still don’t know how it’s done, but I know pickpockets can do it if you are distracted and I am very conscious of my watch and wallet when i’m out in major cities.

3. biggie Sep 14, 2019

That's something I've never considered. Maybe I need to invent a clear colored lanyard loop that attaches under my wrist to a ring on my finger!