Omega watch gifted to me by a patient.

So for those of you who don't know I work in a hospital primarily with the geriatric population. Treatment sessions usually last about an hour and over the course of there plan of care a multitude of subject matters are discussed but inevitably the topic of vintage watches always come up. Vintage watches is obviously a huge passion of mine and its really such a natural discussion to have. Many were collectors of various objects throughout there life and these people lived through the time period of which these watches were made. It also provides them an opportunity to reminisce of the good old days. I find the discussions fascinating - same country yet so many years ago life really was so different back then. Particularly, I have had some really interesting discussions with WWII vets in my time. Its crazy to me that my colleagues seem, at times, disinterested. At some point we will no longer have first hand accounts of the events that transpired during that time.

Well anyways I was having one of these discussions with a patient last week. Basically expressing my interest in old, mechanical watches. Well I show up today and she hands me a box of old watches. Inside was this:

IMG_3277.jpg IMG_3276.jpg IMG_3279.jpg IMG_3278.jpg

The dial appears to have been refinished, the hands replaced, the crown is missing but the case looks very well preserved. Such a nice gesture and amazing gift. I don't know anything more about it other than the background story but I plan on opening the case back when I get home today to learn more. I think I might start a new watchbox and put all of the watches I received as gifts from patients from over the years.

Hope you guys enjoyed the story and have a terrific Monday!