Omega Speedmaster bezel

Hi Guys
I have my fathers 1970 Speedy with a very faded and dented DON bezel. I am not a speedmaster expert but i have a chance to replace it with a mint condition DN90 from around the same period. As you can see from my image the DON bezel is very damaged and faded.
Can i get your thoughts
thx
viv

Unclear what you are asking. Yes your bezel is worn and damaged.
No photo of replacement bezel attached if you want opinion

The DN90 bezel is not as sort after as the DoN, bezel but it is much better condition

Sounds like you’re considering two choices;
1. Original/correct but poor condition, or
2. Incorrect but good condition.

Personally I’d stick with option 1 until I could afford option 3 (correct and good condition).

Thank you for your reply
The DN90 is quite accessible and cheap.
The DoN are extremely pricey and relatively rare
Ive read that both are now accepted as original

Thank you for your reply

It depends on the serial of your watch

I think most of us would consider replacing an original DON with anything but a much better-condition DON a downgrade. Of course, it’s your watch and if you prefer a better-condition replacement bezel to the original one, no one will call the police on you, but the reason DON bezels are so pricey is exactly as you say—they’re rare to find in good condition.

Are you selling the original bezel? Again, it’s your watch to do with as you please, but actually getting rid of the original piece is going to strike most of us as an irreversible error. We’re collectors and we value originality.

If you don’t like looking at the old damaged bezel there’s no harm with getting the DN90 and seeing how you enjoy the watch with that.
I would keep the original bezel however as previously recommended. You can always swap back.
Keep in mind that if it’s cheap the DN90 may be aftermarket