Forums Latest Members

Omega 166.020 crystal replacement advice needed - Seamaster De Ville

1. VintageOmegaLove Feb 12, 2020

Hi All,

I would just like to ask for some help regarding the replacement of the crystal for this reference. I have some experience as a hobbyist tinkerer with watches however, I have no previous experience with this unicoc case (yes, I know, I should start with something less valuably, haha).

Admittedly and embarrassingly, I attempted to do this on my own after spending a while investigating and trying to get it to work. It just wouldn't work. I was starting to get frustrated. I think we all know what happens when we get frustrated...not good! I completely shattered the crystal. Maybe I was using a dye that was too small compared to the size of the crystal? I should have stopped but I just wanted to get it done. This happened a few weeks back - now that it's been off my mind for a while and that I'm finally over the fact that I destroyed an original Omega crystal, I can finally bring myself to ask for some advice.

I know it would be best to have it taken to a watchmaker, but I would honestly like to learn how to do it for myself. I also like the sense of accomplishment that you get when you can repair something on your own!

The parts I have:
    - Case ref. 166.020
    - Part no. PZ 5072 (please advise if you believe this is not the correct part no.)

The equipment that I have:
    - Bergeon crystal lift
    - Caseback/Cyrstal press

IMG_8836.jpg

IMG_8838.JPG

The watch currently has a horrible generic crystal fitted. You may also see that the steel ring is not part of the crystal - it is currently sitting on the dial (removed when trying to fit the PZ 5072 of course). Interestingly, that silver ring is a complete circle unlike the tension ring. The PZ 5072 comes with its own tension ring which was giving me a hard time installing it.

IMG_8837.jpg