Forums Latest Members
  1. stater02 Oct 7, 2019

Hello everyone. Let me start out by saying that I'm not a watch guy, and this is my first post here, so please be gentle. (If you want to talk bourbon, I'm all ears!)

My gramps recently passed and he fashioned himself as a bit of a watch guy. He did most of his collecting in the 70s when his business was doing well. He especially loved older omegas and military watches as he was in the Army. He left me and my cousins some of his watches in his will. I got one of his favorites - a 53 RAF Thin Arrow. Obviously, this watch has sentimental value to me. I also like the look of it (but, it's too small for my wrist, if I'm being honest.)

Here's the rub. My research on this watch says that it's radium paint. Research on this topic - some of which that I've read here - is conflicting. It's a big deal, it's not a big deal. My wife and I work in healthcare, and we have young ones in the house. I'm not entirely comfortable having this watch around. She's *REALLY* not comfortable with it.

Would love to hear any comments from the board on a) realistic risk level (again, young kids in the house. I worry they find it in a drawer and play around with it, and b) if i were to sell this, what the best place to do so with the vintage omega watch community? I apologize if these are dumb questions. I really wish I could just wear this thing and think of him without the health concerns.

Including a picture. Apologies that the quality is not very good.

Screen Shot 2019-10-07 at 10.55.23 PM.png
    Bille and DaveK like this.
  2. oinkitt Oct 7, 2019

I wouldn't be losing any sleep re this issue.

There has been a lot of research done over the years re the radium in watches. The results can be accessed via a number of forums.

The current consensus is that you don't sleep with it under you pillow and store it in a ventilated area.

Edited Oct 8, 2019
    felsby, mzinski, Bille and 1 other person like this.
  3. michael22 Oct 7, 2019