New Seamaster Aqua Terra has (dust?) particle under crystal / hanging from hour hand. Thoughts?

Hi everyone,

I am new to this forum and new to collecting watches. A week ago, I bought my first luxury watch from an Omega Boutique. It is a new Omega Seamaster Aqua Terra (blue dial, 38mm).

I am quite happy with it, but kind of upset that I have discovered a particle hanging under the hour hand. It is either white or silver (the colour of the hands). It seems to be a piece of dust or perhaps a piece of metal that got left behind while finishing the hand. It is visible from various angles (also the normal viewing angle). Unfortunately, I can't help but notice it every time now. Please see the picture below.

IMG_8259 (1).jpeg

It bothers me and frankly, I expected the finishing of the watch to be as such that these things wouldn't be visible with the naked eye.

As I am totally new to this, though, I am wondering what others think about it. Is this acceptable for a new Omega watch or is this something that should be fixed? If so, should I ask for it to be serviced or is it better to request a replacement?

Many thanks!

Since you bought it a week ago, I'd request a replacement from your OB and not bother sending it in under warranty.

I had a similar issue when I bought my Seamaster Pro new back in 2005. After a couple of months I noticed what looked like a metal filing under the crystal at the 6 o'clock position. I took it to the Omega Service Centre in my city and they rectified it for me while I waited. All done in 30 mins. If it's just a piece of lint or a metal filing, it will be a similar fix.

Not acceptable. The Hamilton I bought last year has nothing of the sort and cost less than 1/10th the price. Take it back and ask to exchange it. It's noticeable.

Is it this?

x1445764-9c9856e28765e741d9b410259e6342f5.jpg.pagespeed.ic.ro_pgH2nHr.jpg