Forums Latest Members
  1. MarkTr Sep 10, 2019

I know many of you like the original A386’s so I thought I would show you my old workhorse A386 which I have been wearing for about 30 years.

Please overlook the quality of the photos- I borrowed my wife's phone and could not get the focus perfect.

When I bought it my collection consisted of mostly watches from the ’30s and ’40’s- and it still does. This is the newest watch that I own.

The watch was, and is, such a great example of the ’70’s I could not pass on it. It became my go-to daily watch along with my ’41 Breitling Chronomat.

It is not in collector condition with all the marks and water damage—but that has never mattered to me- it was the perfect everyday watch.

I do have it fully serviced-the last time this past spring. A few years back I did pick up a new Service outer ring and sub-dial hands. So at this last service, we put the service ring on the watch and it looked so wrong we went back to the original.

We did install the sub-dial hands and I am up in the air about them. They do have flat tips but are a bit too short to be original. They replaced the pointy longer hands which showed up on the watch when I had it first serviced. I have seen the pointy hands in many photos but I never thought they were original as shown in period sales photos.

I am tempted to re-install the longer pointy hands- any thoughts on this?

When it was being serviced, I mentioned that since I have retired I have not been wearing it and asked the watchmaker if he had any customers who would like a well-worn A386. I find that I am wearing my smaller early curves and driver watches from the 40”.

He showed it to one of his high-end collectors who offered me $2500. Now I know my A386 is not the best looking around but $2500 seems a bit low even if he was only buying it for trade stock.