Forums Latest Members

My first ever vintage, my first ever Omega, I trust you guys - did I do alright?

1. Eon Nov 9, 2019

Hey all, I'm a 19 year old freshman mechanical engineer and a massive watch enthusiast. I'm no means a vintage expert but I have always had an appreciation for them. Previously I had never really found a piece that "spoke" to me per se, lots of nice watches but none that gave the right vibe I was looking for.

Well, a friend and I were at a knife and gun expo here in town and out of the 400 or so booths, a small handful were selling watches. They were almost exclusively vintage pieces, tons of old Rolex's from the 80s and 90s, lots of Bullovas, etc, but only two Omegas.

The one I fell in love with was this little cutie. From what I've managed to find it's an early 1950s Seamaster with a 344 caliber bump movement in it. I had no idea movements like this existed but I absolutely love the little taps I feel every now and then. The engineering behind it is also super cool and I love staring at the movement despite it not being the cleanest example out there.

I snagged it for $150 and I felt pretty good about that. Did I get a reasonable first start to the world of vintage or should I have done more research like I normally would have? I'd love to know if the 2576-13 on the interior of the case back is the reference number or what it is otherwise, what year it's from, and anything else a newcomer should know. Strap suggestions are also welcome!

I made an account here just to get some thoughts so please go easy on me if there's something I managed to miss.
    Thank you!
    1.JPG 2.JPG 3.JPG 4.JPG 5.JPG

2. Dan S Nov 9, 2019

Welcome to the forum. Indeed 2576 is the reference number, and the "-13" refers to the 13th run of that reference. The movement appears to be a cal 342, not 344 as indicated by the OP. Here is the Omega Vintage Database page for the reference: https://www.omegawatches.com/en-us/watch-omega-seamaster-omega-ck-2576