Forums Latest Members

Moonwatch professional or fois ?

1. stevethecab Apr 18, 2022

Hi , I'm new to omega and really want to buy a speedmaster, but am torn between the moonwatch professional or the fois, any tips or recommendations please. I have a budget of £5000.
    Also which one is the better investment watch.
    Thanks Steve..

2. STANDY schizophrenic pizza orderer and watch collector Apr 18, 2022

Moonwatch professional…then you can branch out on the sub variety’s of the classic. ;)

Not really investments but you will get what you paid within a few years on both.
    (Some may say the FOIS is a better investment now they aren’t made anymore but it’s still a bottom of the investment strategy pool not being a LE)

3. Mspeedster Apr 18, 2022

I had the same dilemma back in 2014/2015. I didn't care about the investment perspective, never do. But back then it didn't matter since both watches were readily available. Ultimately, I chose the FOIS. I preferred its vintage looks and smaller size of 39mm over the Pro.

It may depend on why you've decided you want a Speedmaster. If you want it because of its icon status, then perhaps only the Speedy Pro "moonwatch" will do. However, if that's not the case, then it's just personal preference based on looks and how it wears on you. Both are great watches, I still think about adding a 3861 Pro to my collection.

Omegafanman likes this.
  4. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Apr 18, 2022

You know I’d actually be learning towards the FOIS now just because they’re actually quite cheap and IMO underpriced compared to the normal Moonwatch and I don’t see it staying that affordable that long. Moonwatch itself you’re not going to get priced out of but the FOIS you might be in a couple of years even though they’re only numbered and not limited.

chipotlefire, perks713 and Duracuir1 like this.
  5. mbp Apr 18, 2022