Forums Latest Members

Longines Conquest Automatic Vintage

1. ssilviyas Apr 24, 2021

Hello guys,

Great to meet you all. I am a newbie to the forum, so I am reaching out to you for some advice. I thought I will be asking about an omega, however, in the end, I end up asking about your opinion about a Longines Conquest Automatic watch.

I am considering buying this watch for my husband, but I have concerns about the display and the markings. Do you think such a condition is possible for Longines, with the stain on the time marks? Should I be concerned? Watches like that that I already checked to have these dials were quite perfectly made, maybe they were restored. I believe these marking were actually originally painted by Longines for these particular watches, however, I am not really certain of it. Have you seen something like this - such effect, is it possible to be a genuine defect of an old watch?

I really like this particular design of Longines Conquest and I wanted just to go ahead and buy it but wanted to hear your opinion. What do you think?

Thanks a lot for your help.
    Silviya

longines.jpg longines 2.jpg longines 3.jpg longines 4.jpg

2. Syrte MWR Tech Support Dept Apr 24, 2021

Hello Silviya,

welcome to the forum, it’s very nice of you to be planning such such a present for your husband.

You have good taste and good instinct because there are many things to like about this watch,
    In particular the original non restored dial.

However the metallic circle around the dial, which we call « bezel », appears to have lost a gold layer, although the pictures lack clarity.

Without getting technical you should not buy this at this stage.

Also collectors would probably find the enamel is a bit too damaged on the medallion at the back.

Buying a vintage watch requires patience and study.

It’s doable but have you looked into Longines’s beautiful modern reeditions of this watch?

They would be much more convenient to wear on a daily basis.