Forums Latest Members
  1. Dadawada May 1, 2022

I'm a new owner of a new Seamaster. I've owned the watch for one week. During that time twice the watch hasn't kept time. Once it was almost exactly an hour off (late) and another time it was off by at least an hour and a half. Both times the watch was still running. However, my question is will the Omega lose time if the watch is still running but maybe low on the power reserve?

About winding...I've heard and read you cannot overwind. When I wind it just gets more difficult to wind but I never hear or experience any of the winding safety features I keep hearing about. The watch does not make a rachet sound when fully wound unless I'm not reaching that point yet and it never comes to a stop. I would imagine I've wound it 30 to 40 times.

Thanks in advance.

2. RKC May 1, 2022

i have a Seamaster Planet Ocean 8900 and Seamaster Professional 8800, and both are accurate to within 1s/day.
    No you should not be able to overwind. When new and not running, 50 turns should be sufficient. If your watch is that far off you need to take it back to your OB or AD as that is way off.

Dadawada likes this.
  3. fiberguy May 1, 2022

I bought a Seamaster 300m about a month ago. It gains approx 2 seconds per day. I pretty much wear it 24/7, i have wound it once since I bought it. If you are losing that much time in such a short period, something sounds seriously off.

Dadawada likes this.
  4. Dadawada May 1, 2022

Thanks for the reply...so if it is running period it should keep accurate time no matter what. Both times I've picked up the watch out of the case to wear and it was still running but an hour or more off. I didn't know if it was because it was about to run down.

5. Dadawada May 1, 2022

I don't wear it or any watch for that matter unless I'm going out. So much of the time it is in the box.

6. flw history nerd May 1, 2022