Forums Latest Members

It finally happened... my first fraudulent Paypal claim.

1. sonicosa Aug 31, 2020

I've been buying and selling on ebay for 2 decades now, and this is the first issue I can recall having.

Over the past 6 months, after reading experiences and words of caution from OF members, (wise warnings from @Dan S and an anecdote from @Shabbaz come to mind), I've become increasingly wary of selling on ebay or accepting paypal payments from strangers without reliable feedback. Well, it finally happened today, and I had a fraudulent paypal claim opened against me.

I sold a watch part on ebay about a week ago. The buyer only had 3 feedback and none of it recent. The name of the person who I received payment from was different from the buyer / person I shipped the item to. There are obviously some red flags in there, but what am I supposed to do as a seller? If I cancel the transaction and refund the money, paypal still keeps their cut, I'm not sure what ebay does regarding their fee, but I'd also be opening myself up to negative feedback.

Thankfully this was a low-cost item, so if paypal decides in the buyer's favor, I'm only out ~$30, but either way, I can't imagine selling on ebay again in the future. I feel like I've been rolling the dice, and they were eventually going to come up snake eyes. I'm just glad it wasn't on a higher cost item. Although I still have several items inside their ridiculous 180 day window, so who knows.

Deafboy, Duracuir1, apsm100 and 2 others like this.
  2. Dan S Aug 31, 2020

Very sorry to hear this. Even thought the financial downside isn't huge, it feels terrible to be exploited like that. Keep us updated, I'm sure that many of us will be interested to hear how the case proceeds. eBay and PP are independent, so if PP decides against you, there's still a chance that eBay will reimburse you as long as you followed all of their guidelines.

Edited Aug 31, 2020
    Albe100, Scarecrow Boat and sonicosa like this.