Forums Latest Members
  1. JanSch Jan 22, 2023

Hello all,

I am completely new to the hobby and found this watch on ebay. Is this a genuine Omega watch? I couldn't find any model that matches it online.

Thank you all for your valuable insights.

Omega3.jpg Omega2.jpg Omega1.jpg
  2. Davidt Jan 22, 2023

Do you know the reference number?

Have you done some quick research to find similar watches?

3. Pvt-Public Jan 22, 2023

Well, it’s a watch.

4. JanSch Jan 22, 2023

Unfortunately, I don't know the reference number but already contacted the seller about it.

I tried to find a similar watch on the Omega vintage watch site, but couldn't find one that fits.
    As I'm super new to the whole Omega watch hobby I am really lost in all the possible combinations. There are also some things I have never seen on any photos before, like the hour and minute markers. And should the sub second hand also be golden if the minute and hour markers are?

If it is a fake maybe you could guide my to some problems the watch has so I can learn a thing or two.

Best,
    Jan

5. janice&fred Jan 22, 2023

Hi Jan and welcome! To me the watch looks legit but the case has a lot of wear thru to the gold plating/filling.

6. JanSch Jan 22, 2023

Thanks, for your assessments.
    The seller sent me 2 more pictures. The ref Nr. is 2933-3 and I think the case kind of fits to the watch displayed on the omega vintage site. It only appears to be polished heavily, as the edges are very soft? Hands fit imo, but the markers are different. I am just not sure how many variations of the markers there are. Also the caliber is supposed to be 267 but is 269 on this watch.
    Does anyone have other suggestions?
    Thanks all, your input is really appreciated.

Omega5.jpg Omega4.jpg
  7. lucian23 Jan 22, 2023

The watch is authentic but i will not recommend as a beginer in this hobby to buy a gold plated watch. Better find a stainless steel version. Those are more desirable for collectors. Regards.