Forums Latest Members

I had finally decided on what watch should be my first chronograph...

1. Maggot_ff Jun 29, 2020

Hi, all!

I'm new to these forums, but not to watches.

I am new to chronographs, however, as a chronograph has eluded my collection thus far. When I decided at the beginning of this year to get a new watch, I started the usual, long process of deciding what to go for. I prefer my watches to be new so all the dings and scratches can be attributed to my own doing, so my first choice; a Daytona, went out the window before the race even started.

After some time I narrowed it down to a few potential watches, with, you guessed it, the Speedy as my first choice. It had always been on my radar as it is for anyone even remotely interested in mechanical time pieces, and I felt happy with going for a Speedy as my first chronograph. I went to my AD, tried it on and loved it. I found my first chrono.

This is where I made the mistake which led me to becoming this indecisive mess I am today. I asked them to see the new Seamsaster 300 chronograph as I had never seen it in the flesh before. I screamed at me. This was the watch that does it all: Water resistance to handle my summer activities, 60 minute counter on the chrono, long power reserve, date, column wheel, automatic movement. It can take a beating and it will look good doing it.

My only gripe with it was the thickness, but it's nothing I cant live with. But the Speedy is still there, looming over me. Judging my wandering thoughts of getting something other than its magnificent self as my first chronograph.

I'm in need of some input on people that has lived with the SMP 300 Chronograph, cause I'm just a simple man unsure of which horse to put my wad of hard earned cash on. And while experiences with the Speedy is plentiful, the SMP300 with the 9900 hasn't been around long enough to have gathered the same amount of reviews and thoughts. Any input would be appreciated.

Sincerely,

An indecisive mess