Forums Latest Members

Have current times effected watch purchasing for you

1. Walrus Apr 4, 2020

Seems petty to bring up watches in the face of this virus ravaging so much of humanity but it’s a watch forum so I think it’s ok. I hope everyone is healthy and has avoided furloughs and layoffs etc. I am talking to a gentleman selling a seamaster pro not too far from me. The watch looks nice and the price is very fair. It’s a watch I’m interested in looking further into. I’m not new to watches but I’m far from an expert and doing something like this I’d always prefer to find a watchmaker in the area to look over the watch prior to me handing over a bunch of Benjamin’s but as we all know there will be no watchmakers open for a while. I figure I’ll follow up with this gentleman feel him out but if I don’t have complete confidence in myself the wise move will probably be to pass. The watch is one state over from me but it’s really under a two hour drive so I can at least go check it out.

The other concern is the unknown of this virus. My wife’s company did a small pay cut for six months due to the impact of the virus on business. She works for a Fortune 500 company so that is probably a couple hundred thousand people in that company alone who have to eat that. We aren’t that upset, we see the unemployment numbers in our state, we will not cry over an 8% pay cut when so many people are losing work completely. My job seems ok, no one wants to work with the homeless and mentally ill right now, I’m working 7 days a week quite often as we have staff that quit because of the virus but my field of work is not a field that makes you rich.