Forums Latest Members
  1. kbluddite Feb 4, 2021

Hi you guys. I’m a newbie on the list. I have my dad’s UG Aero-Compax chronograph, circa 1940’s, gold with a fixed gold wire band. It works, but probably needs some cleaning. I’m attaching some pix. I don’t think it was ever worn much. You all seem to have a lot of expertise in these areas: what can you tell me about this watch? I haven’t found one like it yet online to compare.
    Thanks a lot in advance!

IMG_3843.JPG IMG_3842.JPG IMG_3840.JPG IMG_3839.JPG
  2. Larry S Color Commentator for the Hyperbole. Feb 4, 2021

Wow! A very very lovely case and dial. Hour and minute Hands are UG, missing Lume, but as there is none on the dial not original to the watch. This left the factory with gold baton hands. Might have been a custom add on by the dealer. I would get it serviced before wearing it much. The knot is a “savoy knot” ... you can search on it here in the UG forum btw. Here is a factory ref picture.
    54A0AA53-F237-48B3-AE15-E67BDE2B5832.jpeg

Edited Feb 4, 2021
  3. DirtyDozen12 Thanks, mystery donor! Feb 4, 2021

I am not a UG expert by any means but the printing on this dial looks quite poor. Also, the gold markers on top of printed lines appears odd, but I acknowledge that this could be normal for UG dials of the period. Below are a few other gold Aero-Compax examples. To me, all have more precise printing than the one above. Note, for example, "Universal-Geneve" and "Aero-Compax."

upload_2021-2-4_10-17-32.png
    https://www.instagram.com/p/CIIsiAerVam/
    upload_2021-2-4_10-17-52.png
    https://www.instagram.com/p/CKrBr9KLkBA/
    upload_2021-2-4_10-18-26.png
    https://en.expertissim.com/universal-aero-compax-12277052
    upload_2021-2-4_10-18-46.png
    https://jewelry.ha.com/itm/timepiec...-geneve-14k-gold-aero-compax/a/171146-72052.s

wsfarrell and Zapatta like this.
  4. kbluddite Feb 4, 2021