Forums Latest Members

Getting fancy - Modern dress watch recommendations?

1. cgaites Dec 12, 2021

Hello fellow forum goers,

I'm in the market to add a new, modern dress watch to my collection. This is a new portion of the watch world for me, and I'm just beginning my search. So, turning to the forum's collective wisdom in order to get ideas of what to check out in person.

Long story short, over the past 2 years or so I accomplished a couple of significant milestone in my career. Don't want to bore you with the details. However, thanks to this success, and because Covid restrictions have rapidly loosened in my part of the world, I now find myself attending formal in-person corporate events on a quarterly basis (I'm vaxx-ed, boosted, and also recovered from Covid a while ago so am OK with this). As such I am looking to get myself a nice new dress watch, both as a celebration and to fit in at these events.

I already have two vintage Omegas in my collection - a late-40's Seamaster and mid-60's Constellation - that have been serving as my dress watches for years. While these certainly fit the bill style-wise, I would like something more modern and fancy this time around. For reference, at the last of these events I attended there was a gentlemen wearing a Lange 1, and another wearing a VC Historiques. I'm still nowhere near in a position to look in that price range, but am hoping to find something that speaks to me in the $7K-10K range which won't look out of place in such company. This will be a one time super-splurge for me, so would have to sell pieces I already have to stretch the budget any higher.

On my radar so far are:
    - Jaeger-LeCoutre Master Ultra Thin Moon Phase
    - Jaeger-LeCoutre Reverso Tribute Duoface (blue dial)
    - Zenith Elite Moon Phase (grey dial)
    - A Lange & Sohn Saxonia (this one would definitely be pre-owned, the 37mm version, and would probably involve lightening the watch box by a couple of pieces to afford)