Forums Latest Members

First vintage Omega - please help me narrow it down

1. phcollard Feb 12, 2020

Greetings, first post ever! I have been a lurker for years and, as you can see, I only recently joined.

I just LOVE Omega watches. I currently own a Bond Seamaster 2541.80 and a brand new Hesalite Speedmaster.

I have always admired the collective knowledge on these forums, and I would like to ask for a bit of help please :)

I am dreaming of owning a vintage Omega, I have spent a lot of hours reading here, spent too much time in the Omega vintage database, but I still have a hard time figuring out what to look for.

Ideally...
    - Silver dial
    - Size about 36mm or larger
    - Manual wind
    - Budget at $700-$800 max., if cheaper I won't complain
    - Bonus point if I can find a 1969, my birth year

I am a newbie so I won't be looking for the rare find, just a solid, reliable, relatively easy to find in good condition and all original Omega.

So do you have a few references that spring to mind?

Thank you so much!

2. stevelovell Feb 12, 2020

Maybe a bit too small for you but I started my vintage Omega collection with a Constellation. 1969 like you are looking for and should be well within your budget.

Samir, Leeroy and phcollard like this.
  3. OMEGuy Feb 12, 2020

Hello and welcome!

I think you will hardly find a watch matching exactly all of your 10 criteria, so maybe you should give a hint what is most important to you or what "ideally" means exactly?

Are you looking mainly for a chrono, a diver's or a dress watch?

Also, most important, what is "vintage" for you and what is "good condition", is the size (> 36 mm) negotiable, is "manual wind" a must?

I recommend you study the private watch sales section here to get an idea of options and pricing.

https://omegaforums.net/forums/private-watch-sales/

Good luck with your search! :)

kkt and DaveK like this.
  4. phcollard Feb 12, 2020

Thank you for your replies Steve and Omeguy!