Forums Latest Members
  1. Candle00 Dec 11, 2017

Hi OF,

I've only just recently joined the community and have been blown away by the amount of insight and information on offer from the generous members. As I'm just starting out in the vintage collection game, it got me thinking what prompted others to do so? I'm starting this thread so people can share what motivated them to start collecting.

I'll kick if off. It's quite a simple motivation but a touching one nonetheless; my great grandfather was a collector (sadly none of the pieces have made it down to me) so I thought I'd follow in his footsteps. OF has been a great educator thus far.

Look forward to hearing from you,
    Candle00

2. Canuck Dec 11, 2017

In the mid 1970s, it occurred to me that my (late) father had a Rolex Prince Observatory duo-dial “doctor’s watch” that he hadn’t used for decades. I asked if he still had it, and.he did. He asked me if I wanted it. I did. That was when I was at the top of a slippery slope. The watch is close to 90 years old. Here it is.

E11D4D69-CEC1-451F-9952-1F1E460BB50A.jpeg

Jonatan, murph, WYO_Watch and 10 others like this.
  3. dan7800 Dec 11, 2017

Russian mafia debts that I had to find a way to pay off

Archer, lillatroll, Larry S and 3 others like this.
  4. Vitezi Dec 11, 2017

Quite simply, my (quartz) watch had died.

I had always wanted to try a mechanical swiss watch, just to see what all the hype was about. But I was on a very limited budget at the time, and a new watch was too expensive. And so I wondered if a vintage watch would suit my needs.