Forums Latest Members

Difference between Omega Seamaster 600 and Deville, 1960s models, Cal. 5xx and 6xx?

1. AaronC Jan 22, 2019

First thread on Omega Forums. I am currently attending law school and have been on the lookout for a classic timepiece as a dress watch. I take after my father who loved to collect things as a hobby. Watches are something we both love to collect, but he won't hand down any of his prized watches anytime soon. He pointed me in the direction of Omega Seamasters because they are built well, have a good reputation, can be found for a decent price if you have patience and will hold its value or raise in price as time goes on. This is my first time diving into vintage watches and I like to take my time to research what I'm buying into. Currently own a Seiko SKX007J, Tisell Bauhaus (homage budget piece) which I hope will be replaced by a Nomos Tangete one day, and now need a dress watch for fancier occasions (last essential watch to complete the trinity for all occasions). After some research, I've narrowed my choices to 1960s Seamasters, more specifically the Deville (Cal. 5XX) and 600 (6XX) series. The Omega 600 Ref. 136.011 has caught my eye the most with its classy silver sunburst dial, date/calendar option and the Seamaster logo on the back. I've also come across other Deville's that are from the same time with similar specifications except for a different movement. Really curious to know the differences and if one model over the other has more value or reasoning behind the similarities, yet different branding models. Also taking suggestions for other Seamaster models that closely resemble the Ref 136.011 to look at. Budget is $600 and my only requirement is white/silver dial, date/calendar, stainless steel case, and Seamaster logo on the back. Thanks for the help!

Edward53 and Lonestar like this.
  2. Davidt Jan 22, 2019

Two great lines with very robust movements, especially the 6xx.