Forums Latest Members

Bracelet sizing/link removal convention?

1. Lovemy8541 Jun 14, 2020

I have a new Seamaster Diver 300m, and I initially took the bracelet to a local jeweler to size the bracelet because Omega is not sizing bracelets right now due to C19. The jeweler could not do it with his tools. He was concerned about adding additional scratches to the ones he made and damaging a screw too much. He left a few very small marks on the caseback and very slightly damaged two screw heads, but nothing shocking, and that was enough for me to politely thank him for trying and to leave.

After the experience I read online about doing it myself and read that applying heat helps break the Loctite bond. Also having the correct screwdriver is paramount. So, I ordered a heat gun and a Wiha 1.8mm from the virtual big box store in the sky.

I applied heat, used the Wiha, and wallah! I was able to remove screws with ease and without leaving any marks.

I've discovered that I need to remove 3 links to fit my wrist, and that begs the question. Which end of the bracelet is best to remove two links when the other side will only have one removed? Is there a convention for wearability or does it simply not matter? It seems like I'd want to remove the extra link on the inside of the bracelet (the side facing my body when wearing the watch on my right arm) which would naturally bring the face down on the inside of my wrist for viewing the face easier.

I'm sure I could simply try both sides and see which I preferred, or I could remove both half links from either side to simply make it even. So many options and most likely dependent on an individual wrist, but I just wondered if there is a convention or proper way to do this from a watchmaker/repair perspective.

Edited Jun 14, 2020
    AnPucaGlas likes this.
  2. Evitzee Jun 14, 2020