Forums Latest Members
  1. fishtank_82 Jul 11, 2021

Hi,

I hope you are all good and that you're having a great having weekend.

In the near future, I plan to buy I vintage Rolex - knowing that this is a mine-field since I have little knowledge in this field. Therefore, it would be helpful if you can support me with your opinion on this Rolex 1018.

Is the watch - in your opinion - overall in good condition (case, dial, hands, bracelet, crown). My opinion:

Case: Has seen slight polishment but is - overall - in good shape.

Dial: I've seen this model with "long" indices (as this offer has) and "short" indices. Is this version with "long" indices authentic? Overall I cannot asses whether this is a redial or repainted dial. Would be very happy if you can help me.

Hands: Look in general authentic to me - however, are those hands authentic for the model? The reason is, that I've seen other offers with dauphine hands.

Bracelet: The offered watch comes with the reference 78360 and 558 endlinks - is this correct for this model?

Crown: Not assesable for me - help would be very appreciated.

Thank you in advance and have a great day ahead!

rolex_1018_a.JPG rolex_1018_e.JPG rolex_1018_d.JPG rolex_1018_c.JPG rolex_1018_b.JPG
  2. vibe Jul 11, 2021

Hi there,

Case looks good, make sure it has a correct caseback and check for corrosion between the lugs and in the caseback threads.
    Dial: the earlier ones had the short indicies in the positions that are not 3, 6, 9. It could be a service dial, but could be a dial from a 1002. If you look around the edge at the bottom of the rehault, you can see what may be the edge of the dial (indicating a smaller dial), ask for higher resolution photos.
    Stick hands are correct for this dial and the earlier dial. Dauphine hands are for 1965ish and earlier. the pics are too low resolution to see if they are the correct length, but they look OK.