Forums Latest Members
  1. wagudc Sep 5, 2019

Wryfox, Pvt-Public and alam like this.
  2. ext1 Sep 5, 2019

I thought the author was a bit of a snob himself by arguing so far for non-swiss horology and putting down people who have a point (that albeit, put their points in a negative way...)

Also he puts a one liner argument about Chinese tourbillons. Umm.. I'm not an expert on that subject but I know Chinese tourbillons have been discussed on here sometimes and been frowned upon.. And there was that one dude who came a few months ago and started crapping on swiss brands for using ETA and saying Chinese tourbillons are the best. I can't find the thread...

(slightly unrelated note. He says he's 'hardly wealthy', but he's a student pilot, and from what I know from a friend of mine, that's an expensive commitment... is it not? Genuinely curious.)

3. connieseamaster Sep 5, 2019

Well that was a wasted 2 minutes. Nothing said in the article is original.

89-0 likes this.
  4. wagudc Sep 5, 2019

I agree. "Articles" like this can be a front for promoting a brand, but I enjoyed the discussion of what happens to off-the-shelf movements and the case finishing, etc. As @connieseamaster says there may be nothing original said, but it was new to me as a newbie.

ext1 likes this.
  5. ext1 Sep 5, 2019

I'm a newbie for sure too!! :D seriously I'm not expert enough to know why Chinese tourbillons are not good.

But it just sounded like he was being defensive (for some unknown reason) towards some stuff he's been reading on WUS or something. At least, article helped me understand Medium is a strange site for posting this sort of stuff.

6. Evitzee Sep 5, 2019

He's 19 years old, hardly experienced enough to make generalizatlions about the subject. I am one of those people who DON'T put much stock in what young people say or think, wisdom only comes with age. Kids don't have it.

JwRosenthal and connieseamaster like this.