Forums Latest Members

Any Linux users have out there?

1. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Sep 19, 2020

Got some neat scripts to share? Or a favorite distro?

2. SlCKB0Y Sep 19, 2020

Yep, been using Linux pretty much continuously since the late 90s. First for play and then for work mostly over the last 15 years.

For desktop use I’m pretty fond of Elementary, they have some really talented developers. https://elementary.io/
    Don’t worry about their cheeky little purchase button, if you select “custom” and $0 it’s free.

For server, mostly CentOS because it is a defacto standard due to its relationship to RHEL. https://www.centos.org/

For storage at home, not Linux but BSD in the form of FreeNAS. https://www.freenas.org/

Edited Sep 19, 2020
  3. MRC Sep 19, 2020

I have been using Linux at work since 1993 and at home from 1998. Before that it was SunOs/Solaris at work from 1983 and SunOs at home from 1986, so I was already well used to the Unix way of doing things.

Tried lots of distros over the years and often had a different one on each machine to keep up with developments, but now just have Mint+Cinnamon on desktop and laptops. For some years I got involved with Linux development, particularly Sane scanner back-ends and the now defunct search engine Ht://dig.

Waltesefalcon, ZIELSZIEK and wagudc like this.
  4. jud Sep 19, 2020

Similar here. I started using Linux in the late 90s and got rid of all our Windows PCs at home when I got out of the military in 2000. Been using it for home and work ever since. My kids have Windows PCs for school work but that just started with the lock down.

I'm back to Ubuntu when 20.04 was released. For work I use an Ubuntu laptop and whatever version of RHEL they tell me to use on servers. I have deployed some Ubuntu servers but have moved back to RHEL for consistency across releases.

Foo2rama, ZIELSZIEK and wagudc like this.
  5. wagudc Sep 19, 2020