Forums Latest Members

Amplitude test results and service (3510.50)

1. A-Train Mar 30, 2021

Hello all

I have recently bought a Speedmaster Reduced (3510.50) and just received timegrapher test results. The watch was bought based on description that the watch meets all tehnical requirements and that the test results is within an acceptable limit.

As I am quite new to the world of mechanical watches, my knowledge about reading a timegrapher is rather sparce. I can see from various sources that the amplitude should be approx 250-270.

I would be very happy if anyone is able to help me to analyse the numbers and tell if I should consider servicing this watch now or maybe wait until the warranty expires from the shop (1 year from now).

CH: Rate: +001 / Amplitude: 248 / Beat error: 0.3
    6H: Rate: -002 / Amplitude 222 / Beat error 0.0
    9H: Rate: -000 / Amplitude 223 / Beat error: 0.5
    12H: Rate: -006 / Amplitude: 219 / Beat error: 0.4
    3H: Rate: -004 / Amplitude: 215 / Beat error: 0.1
    FH: Rate: -002 / Amplitude 248 / Beat error: 0.2

Rate difference: 0.07
    Amplitude difference: 0.33

I've used the watch for a little under a week and it looses around 5 seconds a day when I wear it during the day and takes it off before I go to bed.

Please let me know if theres anything else you need to know in order to assess the numbers above.

2. BlackTalon This Space for Rent Mar 30, 2021

Do you know the lift angle that was entered into the timegrapher?

Archer likes this.
  3. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Mar 30, 2021

In addition to the lift angler, we need to know if the watch was fully wound prior to the tests, and if the chronograph was running or not.

4. SkunkPrince Mar 30, 2021

You "should have" manually wound it eleventy-thousand times before putting it on the first time as well.