Forums Latest Members
  1. kip595 Nov 10, 2019

Hey guys, I'm still new to more vintage pieces and was hoping for some thoughts from those 'in-the-'know' about the older designs and movements. I came across a manual wind in a local shop today in what appears to be great overall condition. The case does show enough seemingly honest wear to convince me it is likely correct to the vintage of the movement, a 15 jewel. The movement itself has been serviced and regulated and on brief examination, seemed to be keeping time well.

The dial face and crystal, however, seem almost 'too' clean for the approximate era of the 40s. I've included the two pics I was able to get; the face pic is a bit blurrier than i'd like but it actually looks sharper in person, even with magnification.

The seller insists that there have been no cosmetic changes or restoration he's aware of. The inside of the caseback, which I unfortunately couldn't get a pic of, does show several dates from a faint one that looks to be 60s era, one definitely of 1972, and possibly late 80s, which I suspect were service dates.

Anyone willing to lend thoughts/opinions/proper value suggestions is welcome. I love the look of it, and all things being equal don't necessarily object to some restoration of a piece I intend to wear occasionally, but want to get as much info as I can before I try to haggle, if indeed I do.

Thanks!

IMG_0067 (2).jpg JCN_WAT834.jpg
    Edited Nov 10, 2019
  2. larryganz The cable guy Nov 10, 2019

In my opinion, the dial is not original but has been repainted. The movement doesn't look properly secured in the case. Personally I would not buy it.

3. kip595 Nov 10, 2019

I suspected that about the dial repaint, but had hoped to be wrong about the movement security. :/

4. Bumper Nov 10, 2019

@kip595 , can you get better pics of the dial? And the inside of the case back?

That looks like a Ref 2400 - going by the serial number, maybe a 2400-5 or later. Which would make it An Omega Suveran.