Forums Latest Members

3rd watch - SM300 Trilogy or 2020 Sub?

1. pundemanila Nov 9, 2020

Hi,

i bought a railmaster trilogy earlier this year, and i am about to save up for another watch, maybe a ‘finger-crossed pickup’.

My OB has an SM300 Trilogy that hasn’t moved since 2019, so I might be able to pick it up at a good price.

Given that it looks similar to the Railmaster, am I better off saving up to hopefully pick up a 2020 Sub?

In my mind (fairly early to collecting) I was thinking to max out at 5 watches. I have a JLC Master Date, and a RM. I do intend to one day own a Speedy for sentimental reasons (my father’s birthday was the moon landing) but hopefully a new METAS one.

For a daily driver I use a G Shock (i work in a factory).

Thoughts would be appreciated! I might have to save for another year and a half, so we’ll see where things go.

But it’s amazing to dream.

Thanks guys!

Thrasher36 likes this.
  2. SkunkPrince Nov 9, 2020

Have you looked at Grand Seiko? I personally drool over the spring drive models.

pundemanila likes this.
  3. 140dave Nov 9, 2020

Pick up the 300SM Trilogy and then pick up the Trilogy Speedy later to round off the set.

Thrasher36 and Scooterino36 like this.
  4. Scooterino36 Nov 9, 2020

Seamaster 300 standard issue, final answer. Put the savings towards that Speedy.

05506EB9-AA1F-45ED-9EF7-DDBEA91461F7.jpeg
  5. Thrasher36 Nov 9, 2020

I would go Trilogy and a Submariner .....The JLC I would sell if you want a fifth watch a Seiko Spring drive Godzilla or a Seiko SLA033

Edited Nov 10, 2020
  6. pundemanila Nov 10, 2020

the speedies are always sold out in my country. If the rumours are true about the speedy metas sapphire sandwich, i wouldn’t mind saving up for that :)

7. eugeneandresson 'I used a hammer, a chisel, and my fingers' Nov 10, 2020

There will be millions of 2020 subs...

C70B70CA-14E7-4ECD-8FF9-C1FA95172795.jpeg

8. zwjk Nov 10, 2020