Forums Latest Members

1952 Omega Automatic. Complete noob to vintage watches

1. JIDX Jan 4, 2020

Hello, this is my first post but I’ve been lurking for a long while. I just purchased this 1952 Omega Automatic and would like your opinions and help. I don’t care about value as I don’t intend to sell it but more the background story on it and the movement and your opinions as to it being from the era or if it’s been changed along the way. From the serial number I was able to find that it was made in 1952. I tried using the numbers from the case back on Vintage Omega but nothing came up for me. I did see that some models of this year were Seamaster models but did not have markings on the face. I don’t care much about it being one or not, but would like to know how water ressistant this model may be. I don’t plan on swimming with it, but if moisture getting in is something that I should be concerned with I would like to know. I tried searching for tips on caring for the watch but I did not find much general information as I guess that would vary by model. The watch shop that I purchased it from just did a complete service on it. Any help or information would be highly appreciated. Thank you kindly!!

340DB191-52AE-493E-B2ED-850ED0A01966.jpeg 0AEE2F16-456E-4E2D-AA61-B7FA720E732E.png 65CFB207-A1AB-408D-8C07-A683C69553E9.jpeg 49BA394D-8559-4F07-8782-402D0EBF4F2C.png
  2. X350 XJR Vintage Omega Aficionado Jan 4, 2020

It is a US market reference G6232. It has no water-resistance, the snap back on these have no gasket and the gasket in the crown will have long ago dried up to the point of being useless.

For what its worth the case has been heavily polished and the dial is refinished.

Wear and enjoy.

JIDX likes this.
  3. JIDX Jan 4, 2020

That is my exact intention. So do I need to worry about water damage even from a splash from hand washing? Like I said I’m a complete noob to this era of watches.

4. Canuck Jan 4, 2020