Forums Latest Members

Would like some help authenticating / identifying grandfathers Seamaster.

1. Chun Jun 29, 2017

My grandfather, in his younger years, worked in a jewelry store and as a watch repairman out of his basement. At some point he decided to give this Seamaster to my mother and we found it while looking through all the watches she had. I'm brand new to the watch world but based on my "research" it looks like a seamaster from the 60s? The only thing that confuses me is the case-back. From all the pictures I saw online I did not see any that just had the word waterproof printed on it with no other marks so I'm thinking it might have been replaced at some point in the watches life. If anyone more knowledgeable than I can confirm my suspicion I would be very grateful (disregard the mis-match strap, its only temporary).
    DSCN0501.JPG DSCN0502.JPG

GregH and Giff2577 like this.
  2. chipsotoole Jun 29, 2017

What a pretty watch!! Lovely. Couldn't tell you anything about the case back, not my field..but I'd hazard a guess and say a 321 movement is driving it ..which makes it (and the superb condition of the dial) very collectable...

Chun likes this.
  3. Chun Jun 29, 2017

I'm hoping it's a 321 as well! I'd assume the only way to confirm this would be to open it up but I've got to say I'm not sure I trust myself to not damage it in the process.

4. BlackTalon This Space for Rent Jun 29, 2017

wow, looks like it was in a time capsule!

I suspect to really find out exactly what you have you need to get the caseback removed and take/ post pics of both the movement and the inner face of the caseback.

And make sure whoever opens it has the proper tools (and training) so they do not scratch up the back.

Chun likes this.
  5. kingsrider Thank you Sir! May I have another? Jun 29, 2017

Looks like a DeVille case. You will need to open the case up to see the case reference number for further info.
    One of the pushers appears to be the wrong size.