Forums Latest Members

Worth restoring - yes or no ?

1. phil65 Dec 30, 2013

Got this beauty today, the dial, case and movement are in pretty good shape, sadly the balance wheel is loose, probably needs to be replaced or restored. The watch even works at a slight angle but soon as its completely horizontal it stops
    My question to you is it worth to put a extra investment or just sell the watch for parts, since im a noob in longines and particularly ladies watches.
    Thanks for your help !

2. phil65 Dec 30, 2013

Here are the picutures

IMG_6452.JPG IMG_6456.JPG
    Fritz likes this.
  3. Fritz genuflects before the mighty quartzophobe Dec 30, 2013

It all depends on how bad you want it, as the cost of a full overhaul will likely equal what it's worth in good shape. It is a pretty time piece, cal 10.68 from 1937 I think, if you have a pretty frau to loan it to or would wear it yourself, why not get the balance redone and save it?

Personally I'd fix it and wear it, its a nice piece. But then I drive a yellow Vespa.......

4. phil65 Dec 30, 2013

Yes I will defenetly fix it, since it reminds me of a longines pocket watch I had some time ago. In my opinion its realy beutyfull would ware it myself too if it was a bit bigger

5. Fritz genuflects before the mighty quartzophobe Dec 30, 2013

Never mind the fashion for large watches.... that thing looks as big as my Omega bumper and I love wearing that watch. Wear it!

I've got my Grandad's Longines pocket watch. He bought it in Winnipeg in 1905, the year he landed in Canada....

Its in a simple nickel case and likely not worth much... but its a piece of family history! P1000456.JPG

6. CdnWatchDoc Jan 9, 2014