Forums Latest Members
  1. Perrier Apr 13, 2019

...do they mean it was rubbed a few times with a jeweller's cloth, or do they mean someone used a polishing machine on the case?

Cheers

vinny likes this.
  2. 77deluxe Apr 13, 2019

Polishing machine, unless they are advertising as NOS

3. FlyingSnoopy Apr 14, 2019

+1

4. Longbow Apr 14, 2019

What folks are saying is that the case has lost its sharp, clearly defined features, particularly on lugs and bezels due to someone’s attempt to “improve” the case by removing scratches and pits. Most collectors are looking for something that has never been anywhere near a polishing wheel, with all the contrast between brushed and polished facets clearly evident.

I purchased a Seamaster a few years ago (as a total noob) that I thought was rather attractive until I started to research how it should have looked. I ended up feeling so sorry for it that I had the whole thing restored/reset to something resembling its original “look”. This sort of reset is normally an absolute no-go, especially for steel vintage watches but in this case it was an 18K Gold dress watch so less critical.

Take a look here to see the differences between polished and original, or at least restored. Note that unless metal is added to the case, restoration is always going to modify the case geometry somewhat.

https://omegaforums.net/threads/omega-chronometer-grade-’69-seamaster-168-022.39097/

Hope that helps

By the way, if you want to see the absolute ultimate in unpolished beauties check out some of the posts by @styggpyggeno1, he has the best 168.023 I have ever seen...anywhere.

Blued, vinny, Perrier and 4 others like this.
  5. FlyingSnoopy Apr 14, 2019

If I may add, IWC adds metal to the cases instead of polishing them. I am not certain what others are doing- Rolex still polishes them though
    Cheers

Perrier likes this.
  6. jaguar11 Apr 14, 2019