Forums Latest Members
  1. Majesty Aug 19, 2019

Hello everyone,
    I'm pretty new to the world of watches, but I've been introduced through my unexpected obsession with the Omega Constellation Pie Pans for the better part of a month now. At this point, I feel like I've read enough about this watch to feel comfortable with an ebay purchase (although I recently got burned by a bad movement on an otherwise beautiful timepiece that I was able to return). However, I would now definitely prefer to find something on OF to mitigate the gamble. Anyway, until now I've only really been looking for Constellations with a 500 series movement and avoiding all listings with bumper movements just because I read that the former is the better movement without investigating why.

So my question is-
    Why are Omega watches with the 350's bumper automatic movements often valued considerably less than those with a 500's caliber movement? Does one keep better time than the other?
    If I were to keep up with servicing a bumper automatic movement, would the movement have the same longevity as the alternative?

Thanks!

3/200

crayons likes this.
  2. VetPsychWars Wants to be in the club! Aug 19, 2019

They're a design that worked but not as well as a rotor. They also tend to be more worn out than a rotor of approximately equivalent age. Finding one that isn't worn out is hard to do because how do you know until your watchmaker takes it apart? Nearly impossble.

The only reason to own a bumper is if it's a family piece or you'll wear it rarely. Rotors, especially the 550/560 series, have all of the kinks worked out, so to speak, and are much better for daily wear.

Tom

Benbradstock and Majesty like this.
  3. TNTwatch Aug 19, 2019