Forums Latest Members

What would you experts out there make of this Longines?

1. halgedahl Aug 8, 2020

Advertised as a 34mm, made for the American market in conjunction with the Star Watch Case Company, and from the 60s. I think it a sweet looking Longines. Yet, unlike any I've seen before. The dial is… how shall I put it? Full.. not cluttered, but filled. Rather than with the amount of room, or "white space" I'm used to seeing in Longines references.

But I'm new to Longines. Any help would be appreciated. (I do see that some polishing has been done to the back.)

Fred Halgedahl

P1030387.jpg P1030394.jpg P1030397.jpg

FREDMAYCOIN, Syrte and Benbradstock like this.
  2. Spruce Sunburst dial fan Aug 8, 2020

Don’t know enough to help with the query but it’s a nice looking watch

DaveK and janice&fred like this.
  3. N05J3W3 Aug 8, 2020

Agree. Original or not, a very attractive design.

4. janice&fred Aug 8, 2020

If it's not Kosher it would fool me. To me it looks great. However I'm no Longines expert. I bet Syrte will know.

5. halgedahl Aug 8, 2020

Well, I thought so too. Thanks. I meant to say that no photos of the movement are available… yet. Seller on vacation. Or I would have included.

6. halgedahl Aug 8, 2020

The lume plots match the hands nicely, too.

7. janice&fred Aug 8, 2020

Is the seller someone with a good reputation? Maybe ask him/her to elaborate on the watch and let you know if it's all original? Sure looks great for it's age. Probably been polished but most stuff from that era are by now.

8. halgedahl Aug 8, 2020

Well… reputation and reputation! Haha! As I think I said—on vacation at the moment. He'll hope to have more info when back "in the office" in ten days or so. I'm encouraged that initial feedback is positive. I so appreciate your weighing-in! FH

9. michael22 Aug 8, 2020

Looks great from the front.
    My concern is with the caseback. It looks like a screwdown type that the gripping lugs have been almost totally rounded off.