Forums Latest Members
  1. philgund Sep 17, 2015

Hi All,

I'm currently looking to purchase a vintage watch that is more formal and not in the sport category. I really like the 60's Omega Seamaster 30, but I'm still pretty new to the Omega world and would love some input. I have researched that the 30T2 is a strong movement, but not sure where to start.

I would love to stay under $2000 but I'm open to explore higher price points if I love the design and story.
    Thank you in advance.

2. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member Sep 17, 2015

Three words - "Pie Pan Constellation".

[​IMG]

You can get a nice steel or gold-capped one for a little more than half your budget. A solid gold one will cost more.

Make sure you show them here first, redials and frankenwatches abound.
    gatorcpa

PatrickJ and philgund like this.
  3. devnull Sep 17, 2015

Belay that, you want one with the crosshairs and day piepan.jpg

4. ulackfocus Sep 17, 2015

Nah, you want to buy my Pia...ge.... wait, never mind. Just saw the budget.

Just kidding! The Constellation is a great recommendation. I'd also look for an IWC caliber 89 since you can find the more basic case designs even in solid gold for around $2k. Stainless is less. Some nice JLC manual winds from the late 60's and early 70's are out there for under your budget too.

5. RawArcher Measures thread drift on the Richter Scale Sep 17, 2015

Being a relative newb with plenty of false starts early on, I would recommend trying a few (any) watches on for size before doing anything else. Once you know the "best" size for you, re-ask this same question with a "xx" diameter qualifier. Constellations are amazing, but if the 35 mm size is too small for you they can be hard to wear IMO. On the other hand, if the size is right, a Connie is a beautiful place to begin any collection.
    Understanding my ideal size range was so important to me. Once I knew that, things became a lot clearer. My two cents....

Buckeyes#1 and philgund like this.