Forums Latest Members

What annoys you about sellers and buyers?

1. knafel1983 Feb 16, 2021

Maybe this has been a thread here before. But I've been selling and buying watches online for roughly 15 years. And some things just irk me about the process. I'm a collector, not a dealer. Many of the watches I purchase are from old school, local collectors, as it seems those are usually the best deals. I get tired of seeing these social media influencers, hyping up a watch, and selling it for maybe 2 or 3 times what I would normally pay, especially if I sold it to them. Maybe their photography is more professional, you know, the wrist shot with the suit, and hand in the pocket. Maybe they tagged Hodinkee, use terms like "Calatrava", "tropical", "ultra-rare"..... And some of these prices on eBay.
    Keep is civil and clean, but I'd love to hear other's feedback about it as well. What annoys you about the buying/ selling process?

2. Scarecrow Boat Burt Macklin, FBI Feb 16, 2021

knafel1983 likes this.
  3. knafel1983 Feb 16, 2021

Lol, thanks for the link. I've become so burnt out on selling, especially when you charge the lowest price you can find. And then there's these hipster dudes, and their professional looking posts, charging outrageous prices. I guess eBay, not so much with the professionalism. It is what it is, and you see past all the BS, when you've been dealing with it for so long.

4. M'Bob Feb 16, 2021

From sellers: “Price upon request.” Why waste everyone’s time?

5. blueteg Feb 16, 2021

In my head that always carries the subtitle: "you can't afford it, and even if you could....get ready to overpay"

DaveK, Ness and knafel1983 like this.
  6. McKinley Feb 16, 2021